Responsibility versus Freedom: Should We Pick One Over the Other?

Happy Thanksgiving everybody! I had a good day with family and while using a little courage to speak up, (one needs this at a family gathering) I found an uncle to be a Buddhist that I didn’t know about. I had a big smile and got to visit with him in a way that I hadn’t before.

I like the “crazy” direction some of these comments are going. I remembered that one time my friend had a job receiving and dealing with customer care for a national company. Unhappy, one day he just got up from his desk and walked out without a word to anyone — quit. I was musing about what a “free” action this was for him to take and also how “irresponsible.” There was no life-or-death situations on his plate — really just office supplies, so big or important damage was done. Yet, as I thought over his actions I thought how frustrating it can be to try to get production and have someone on a supposed team drop the ball.

How do you all feel about the subject of responsibility?

4 thoughts on “Responsibility versus Freedom: Should We Pick One Over the Other?

  1. I mean by that, we can not be responsible for creations of other being. We can say, yes I take responsible for my sons behavior, but that is not the same…. as responsible for self. Same as any other topic one can walk down on many avenues….. Responsibility is same as any other though, concept is a consideration…. of course there are immense amount of agreements go with it that concept..

    On Thu, Nov 22, 2012 at 6:47 PM, elizabeth hamre wrote:

    > a very personal thing… > > > On Thu, Nov 22, 2012 at 6:30 PM, Chris Thompson <

  2. Just a quick note of happy Thanksgiving to you and glad you enjoyed your family.
    Re post: Just do your best and let the rest……… plus don’t worry about it, doesn’t help.

Leave a Reply

